What I want to do when I grow up

“What do you want to do when you grow up?” It is sad that no one really ever asked me that question and as a result I never really thought about it.  On the rare occasion when someone did I would think to myself, “how should I know?” But, finally, as I am about to turn 47 I finally know the answer to that questions.

Let me be clear. I have no world changing cause. I have no desperate need. I will likely make this happen without help. With that said if you are still reading let me tell my story. As I mentioned, I am about to be 47 yrs old. I was raised in a fairly unmotiveated environment. With no plan, mentorship, guidance, or push I did what everyone in my hometown did when they did not have a plan, I joined the Army. I spent 20 yrs as an Enlisted Man in the US Army. Since retiring I have spent about 9 yrs in cooperate American. Without a vision I managed to push to where I am by know what did not feel right.  I would do what was expected or next or the obvious choice and I would think, “Nope this isn’t it”. I never knew what it was I just know I was not “there” yet.

But, for the first time my whole life I can answer what I want to do when I grow up. I am going to be a photographer.

About a month ago I quit a good paying job in the medical management world. It was miserable, I was miserable, the people were miserable. And then one day I had enough. There was some money in the bank so I have a cushion while I look for a job I want. The problem is I still didn’t know what job I wanted.

During my search there have been gaps of time as I look for a job and I do not sit still well so I started filling them with photography. I have always dabbled but well long story short, for the first time in my whole life I finally feel a passion for something. Sadly enough I have never felt that before. Just like I never understood how people knew what they wanted to do, I didn’t understand it when people would talk about thier passion. Until now.

And now I do not want to go back. But the cushion will run out. And as good as I think I am I don’t think my photography will pay the bills before the cushion runs out.

So I am here, I figured what the hell. Maybe someone want to help a retired Veteran that wants to pursue the art of photography.

If you are still here, thanks for listening.

Wayne (Tad) Jones

www.ATadCreativeProduction.com

My photography Instagram

My Personal Instagram

Facebook

Go Fund Me link

Leave a Reply

