Your best is always good enough…

Your best is always good enough until you know it is not. 

I have been told that Maya Angelou once said, “Do the best you can until you know better.  Then when you know better, do better.” 
Someone said to me today that the guessed our best was not good enough for each other.  Admittedly, I did not argue with that person.  If I had I would have explained that someone’s best is always good enough. It has to be, its all you can give.  And if all someone can give is not good enough for me, well then I am kind of an ass.  Which, at least I believe, I am not.  

The reason I did not protest that person’s announcement at that time was because my issue was not with the person’s best but with their decision that this was all we have to give. That this will always be our best.  I know that is not true for me and I believe it not true for that person. Who I am now, the best I have to give in this moment, will not always be my best.  I learn everyday and with that my best changes everday.  

It has also been said that those who say that can and those that say they cannot not are both usually right.  I believe that one belongs to Ms. Ford but I could be wrong. As I mentioned, I do not believe that is this person’s best but I have learn to not argue cannots with many people.  It is a discussion that often gets twisted.  Ultimately the only voice people listen to is the one in their own head and that is the one that always gets the last word.  

I shared something on my IG account yesterday. The four agreements my Miguel Ruiz. The fourth agreement is, Always Do Your Best – Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse and regret.” 

As the agreement states your best is going to change from moment to moment.  It cannot or should not be a fixed point, I forgone conclusion, or a limited factor.  Humans are evolving creatures, or at least we should be.  As we learn we do better.  

This was the first time I have done an impromptu blog on my IPad.  Please forgive the lack of structure.  It is just a thought that needed to leave my head.  A push in the positive energy of the universe, if you will.  Or a rant from a guy with too much time on his hands on a lazy Saturday.  

Leave a Reply

